Skip to content

What do you care about?

October 24, 2011

I am a recovering, at time still struggling, sports fanatic. Sports used to consume my time, cares, and passions. I would watch sports all day long, follow each major sport closely, and get emotionally involved in the games. I know, it sounds ridiculous. I once had 3 tears stream down my face when the Phoenix Suns lost to the Spurs in the Western Conference Finals. I remember that night because that night was the night the I realized I had a serious problem. I cared way too much about sports. At times, I still do.

There are so many things that are more important. This is going to be a bit of a rant, but there have been a few things that have been on my mind lately. Why don’t we care about things going on in this country that are seemingly not good for us? I look at things that we put up with, or do not know about, or just plain don’t care about, but I think we should.

For example, I read this short blog post about student loans tonight. Incredible that in our country we have so many young people going into debt for an education. My wife and I began our marriage with over $100,000 in school loans. Not exactly the way you want to start a life together.

How about the issue of the food that we eat and the state of our countries health problems. Again, I am living this right now. My mom has been diagnosed with lung cancer, and my family has been ravaged by cancer. My wife and I watched the documentary Fork over Knives and we have had to rethink the way we eat and look at food. Why don’t we know about some of this information that is presented in this documentary? The main idea is that we are a society that lives on an animal-based diet, but that we really need to be on a plant-based diet. It may sound like a hippy thing to be talking about, but I strongly encourage you to take a look at the documentary and decide for yourself.

I still am disgusted at our worship of the celebrity. We love us some celebrity here in America. Actors/Actresses, rock stars, athletes, models, and other wealthy people. We want so badly to know what they are doing, eating, wearing, you name it. We pay them loads of money for entertainment purposes. Millions upon millions. Think about that. We pay them millions to act. To play a game. Meanwhile our teachers aren’t able to afford a standard house payment?

I don’t trust anyone in Washington. Granted, I don’t know any of them personally, and I am by no means a political junkie. I don’t follow politics too much, I never know who to trust and listen to. I guess my hesitation comes from really being curious if anyone in Washington actually has the interest of the people in mind. I mean really cares about the person. There is too much lobbying going on, too much special interest, too much other stuff going on. Show me someone that is really concerned for us, and I may give you my vote.

I believe that we have to make some serious changes in our country to make some head way on these issues. I can only start with me and my family. I want to care about this stuff more than a sports score. ( I am typing this as I watch game 6 of the World Series, ha)

So… What do you care about?

This post can be broken up into 8 other posts, but I have had some of this stuff on my mind lately. There is more, but for the sake of keeping this shorter than a short book, I will stop here.

What do you think? Do any of these eek you at all? How do we make some changes?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kim burnham permalink
    October 25, 2011 6:29 am

    Well said and so true. We need to start with our own families and set an example.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

