Skip to content

Micah James

December 14, 2012

Micah James Update:

So… many of you know that we took Micah in on Monday afternoon to the ER. He was not feeling good at all. For nearly 3 days he made very minimal movements in his bed, barely fussed, didn’t budge when getting pricked, and just slept A LOT. The Dr. at Cardens Children’s Hospital has been GREAT. She continued to order test to find out what was going on with him. We found out on Wed. that he had a particularly rare strain of  influenza. But… there was still something not right with him, and the Dr. ordered more testing today. We immediately found out that his intestines were blocked up due to some inflammation. So they ordered a non-invasive procedure to be done right away. Liz was still at work when this was all happening, but to my surprise she canceled her last appointment to literally walk in 30 sec. before they started. Then….

I will probably make it sound worse then it was, but it was that real, and worse.

They were basically giving Micah an enema to get his intestines back to normal… the procedure was under way and right as the Dr. said “there it goes, it worked!”, Micah began to turn blue, he stopped breathing, and his body got real tight… Scariest moment of my entire life… I can’t even describe the emotions that I was feeling. The thoughts were terrible, the seconds felt like HOURS, and it was a feeling I would never wish on my worst enemy. Literally within 2 minutes we had 25 people in or around our room. 

“Dad, are you OK?”, “Dad, it is going to be alright”, “Dad, would you like to sit down, or maybe some water?”, “Dad, we know what we are doing”… ugh. 

Then we hear, “he is breathing on his own” (I might have asked in a FIRM voice if he was). I could do nothing to help my little man. I could only talk to him and tell him that daddy was there. I was super frantic, pacing, leaving the room, about to completely break down, ignoring nuresesImage… meanwhile, Liz is holding his hand and singing… In this absolutely CRAZY moment, the craziest moment of our lives she was singing… “Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so”. My wife is incredible. I heard her saying in a decently loud voice “Jesus, Jesus, Jesus”. (she’s a keeper)

Like I said… it probably sounds worse then it was. But it was very real to me, and very scary to me. 

GOOD NEWS… Within an hour of getting to our new room in ICU (they moved us there, which raised a whole set of new questions for me), Micah started acting like Micah. He was babbling… he hadn’t babbled in days. Then he smiled, then he wanted to play, then he was staring down my dinner (he hadn’t done that in 4 days), then the BEST thing… he was dancing to music that I played for him. 

We are not out of the woods yet. All that stuff is GREAT news. Signs are looking good. But tomorrow they are going to look at his intestines and make sure he is back to the way he was created to be. If he is clear, then we are looking good, if not, then we go from there. (possibly the same procedure again) But, we have a GREAT start. 

I want to say 2 things: 1) I am very thankful to our team at Carden’s. They have been great. Especially the Dr. that would not give up on Micah. 2) Thanks for the HUNDREDS of people praying for Micah. I felt lame putting on facebook that we were headed into a procedure as we were being wheeled there… but then I asked myself what my motive was. I am convinced that God listens to His people and He is good. 

Thank you to ALL of you who have been praying and thinking about Micah. I can’t wait to tell him about ALL the people who were praying for him. Updates will follow. Please, continue to pray for my lil’ dude. 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenda Gill permalink
    December 14, 2012 6:39 am

    Josh and Liz, what amazing parents you two are and Micah knows that Jesus loves him as you reiterate this to him. Know that he is being prayed for incessantly. We will look forward to hearing that he is well and active. How is Ethan doing? He is inour prayers also.Thank you for the comprehensive report on Micah’s condition. Love to all.

    • Brenda Howarth permalink
      December 14, 2012 6:58 am

      God is good and hears the cries of His people Thank you Lord for touching Micah and that wonderful doctor that was in charge of his care. Thank you for Godly parents who love you and call on your name!!

  2. Kim Villa permalink
    December 14, 2012 8:17 am

    When I got to the part where Liz was singing…ugh. The lump in my throat will not go away! Montrose Church has been lifting little Micah and the rest of you – we will keep praying. Love you guys.

  3. sue q permalink
    December 14, 2012 10:13 am

    Josh, scary scary I can’t even begin to tell you how great our God is. Thank you for the update, When a child is not well it is excruciating, indescribable. I will continue to pray for your little Micah, Liz, you, and big brother Ethan. Oh and by the way in the midst of this you managed to pull off the funnest night ever on Wednesday. You are seriously insane. God bless you. I am devoting my Bible time today to giving thanks to Jesus for being with your family thorugh this..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

