Skip to content

What’s Next for the Bartons?

February 9, 2014

There are some things in life that you really don’t see coming. I am in the middle of one of those scenarios. 

As of March 18th, I will no longer be on staff at Mission Community Church. It’s been an amazing 5 years on staff… truly amazing. I have grown so much over the past 5 years. I have learned so much. I have had some real great times and some hard times.  I have rubbed shoulders with some true heroes of the youth ministry world… Our volunteer leaders! I have learned from some of the smartest guys that I’ve ever met. I’ve had times of great confidence, and times of great doubt. Most importantly, I have been able to lead and serve some of the best people in the world… Jr. High Students! These students will never know how much I have been truly blessed by them.

So… Why leave?

Good Question.

There are few times in life that I can truly say that I felt God has made something real clear to me. In October I had one of those moments. I was at a conference in San Diego minding my own business… enjoying the weather… enjoying some great friends… Then I went to a seminar about Christianity in a Post-Christian World. While listening in on the seminar the speaker, Brock Morgan, he mentioned in passing that they were hiring a Jr. High Pastor… He said it in passing though, I don’t even think it was a part of his actual content… I thought nothing of it… at first. Over the next 24 hours, I found myself thinking and stewing about the fact that they were hiring a position that I consider to be my sweet spot, Jr. High. I was thinking about it a bunch, to the point that I felt like if I did not at least pursue a conversation with Brock, that I would be blatantly disobeying what God was putting on my heart. 

So… I saw Brock a few times throughout the next day, but still wasn’t sure about this whole idea of approaching him about the position. Finally I did… And he agreed to have breakfast with me the next morning. We chatted for about an hour, mostly about ministry stuff… then at the very end of our conversation I mentioned the job to him. He told me to send him my resume… Um, excuse me? Resume? That’s when it got real for me. I didn’t have a resume put together. I hadn’t thought once about leaving Mission, about getting a new job, or even looked to see “what’s out there”.  To this point, I hadn’t even told Liz about my thoughts or the fact that I had breakfast with a guy about a job. 

Fast forward… Over the next 3 months we had many conversations with Brock and this new church. We even visited them over a weekend. And… Here we are… Following where we believe God is leading us. 

My family and I will be moving to Connecticut. 

Connecticut? 

I keep hearing about it being cold there… I don’t believe it. Besides, what’s cold? When Arizona people say it’s cold there, that could mean it dips below 65 degrees for more than a 9 days in a year. 

I have taken a job as the Jr. High Pastor at Trinity Church in Greenwich, CT. I am very excited to join the team at Trinity and bring the gospel to the people of Connecticut. 

I have so many emotions that come with this huge change in life. I am super excited. I am scared. I am very sad to leave people I love. I am hopeful about this new opportunity. I am nervous about moving my family across the country. I am excited about moving across the country. I believe I am a bit naive about how hard change can be. The word that keeps coming to mind is bittersweet. 

So… I have about 6 weeks of time left here in AZ. I am hoping to spend a majority of my time with friends and family. Call, message me, comment here…. Let’s grab coffee. 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nathan Maples permalink
    February 9, 2014 4:03 pm

    I would love to get some coffee and chat before you leave. Let me know!

  2. rebecca geesey permalink
    February 10, 2014 7:42 am

    Hi Josh,

    Wow. This is big news! What a life change for you and your family. It will be wonderful to live closer to Liz’s family. Thank you for the detailed letter especially give all of the change we are experiencing as a church. Your ministry has been such a blessing to our family. Thank you for your service. Your ability to care for our kids shows through the passion you have for them. The next few weeks will have its highs and lows but try and celebrate the foundation you spent building with God’s help. Blessing to the Barton Family!

    Warm regards,
    Rebecca Geesey

  3. Nicole Salusky permalink
    February 10, 2014 12:22 pm

    Matt and I would love to “get coffee” wih you before you leave! How exciting! Congrats. The journey will be amazing! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

