Skip to content

They are Watching

April 15, 2011

Our kids are watching us. Every move we make, every word we say, every interaction with friends, foes, and family. They are watching.

I think we sometimes want to think that we can live by the motto “do as I say, not as I do”, but we all know that doesn’t work. Wait… we all know that, right?

As parents and as adults we have a responsibility to demonstrate to our kids, our friends kids, and our general population of youth what it looks like to be a part of a larger community of people. We are given the responsibility to show them how to treat other people, how to speak to them, how to make wise choices, how…. and the list can go forever.

I work with students, that is my job. I have the privilege and honor of being given a voice in the lives of students on a weekly basis. I try and understand the weight of responsibility that I am given in that I am an example. My job is to pastor and shepherd students, but along with that comes the fact that I am going to an example of what it looks like to follow Christ and what it looks like to be an adult in everyday life. My students are watching me. When I speak to our facilities guys, they are watching. When I talk about politicians, they are listening. When I am put in awkward situations ( I work with jr. highers, so this is pretty regular), they are watching. Kids spit out what they are fed. If we are feeding them garbage, they are spitting it back out. If we feed them positive stuff, they too will spit that back out.

I often hear people say things like: “these kids today have no manners”, “kids today are rude and disrespectful”, “our future is in trouble”. Well… they learned it from somewhere, right?

So… the charge, the responsibility, the weight, is on us. We have to show the next generations how to love, live, and act. We have to put on display what it looks like to treat people with respect. If we don’t agree with someone, we must show them how to handle that situation in love. It truly does take a village to raise a kid. I just hope we have a decent village to do it in.

I talked a little bit about what they looks like in our family here.

What do you think? What is your experience with kids/students?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 2:14 pm

    Totally agree; kids learn more by what we do than what we tell them to do.

    Case in point? Our oldest married a gal and her parents are super religious. They are also some of the nastiest people I’ve ever met. The mother keeps a list of everything her daughter did wrong and doesn’t hesitate to spank her with it as she sees fit. My choice is to walk the high road (lonely up there sometimes) and do the right thing: keep my trap shut, be supportive to her & our boy + their kids, and lead by example. Surprise? She loves to spend her holidays with us.

    great post!
    MJ

Leave a Reply

